Presentation Series

Jazzy News Feed

Update 5-30-17

♥ Happy Memorial Day Weekend.

♥ We would like to welcome our newest member Michael Klayman (BJS-0147) to the group. He showed up to 5 regular meetings over the past few months and was awarded his Name Badge and Membership Card this past week. Welcome to the club!

♥ The Hello Pineapple results have been updated for Round 5 (May). Due to the live jazz event on June 1st, the prizes will be not given out until the following week on June 8th. Winners must show up that week to claim their prize.

Update 5-15-17

♠ We are currently looking at taking another Field Trip to see the Chicago Jazz Festival at the end of August. If you are interested, then please let us know right away as we need at least 35 people signed up before we can reserve the bus.

♠ The live Jazz event for May will be held on June 1st. The live Jazz event for June will be held on June 29th. Hope to see you there!

Update 4-15-17

Happy Easter Everyone!

♦ Due to the holiday the Jazzy Notes Newsletter will go out on Monday, April 17th.

♦ BJS Members - Log-in to the Members Only section in the month of April for Jazz Apperication Month and get 4 lines of tickets for the Main Raffle. Its that simple!

♦ Hello Pineapple will be drawn the weekend of April 22nd. Results will be posted on Monday, April 24th.

Update 03-25-17

Another great event for the BJS with 12 Years of Supporting Jazz on March 23rd, 2017. A word of thanks to everyone who attended and to our Sponsors on the night from Palmer Place, We're Nuts Popcorn and Network XXIII Photos.

 

Round 3 for the Hello Pineapple is complete. The results are posted in the Member's Only Section. Winners can pick up their prize during the March 30th presentation.

Update 03-16-17

This week we welcome two new Members John Scott (BJS-0144) and Beverly Scott (BJS-0145).

 

Next week we look forward to everyone coming out to the 12th Anniversary Party featuring Ava Logan Quartet.

Jazz in Review: The Beginning

The Brookfield Jazz Society (BJS) held their first meeting in the lower level of the Brookfield Village Hall on a Thursday in March. There were only 15 people in attendance to listen to Ian's first Jazz Presentation. Just six months later the very first Live Jazz Event took place in the Cozy Cottage at the Irish Times Pub. After that the BJS quickly grew with more people in attendance, attracting more membership and many more bands to perform, some more than once, for the attentive audience. Ten years later there were over 370 presentations, over a dozen special events, and over 130 live jazz events.

Read more...

Jazz in Review: Part 1

Presentation Details

Date: April 23rd, 2015
Media: DVD Video Production
Style: Epic
Presenter: Marc

The Brookfield Jazz Society featured an Epic Presentation titled "Jazz in Review: Part 1", which highlighted the music from live jazz events held over the first 10 Years of Supporting Jazz in Brookfield and the surrounding area. The video DVD presentation offered select music tracks from the performers and groups (see list below) that have entertained audiences starting in October 2005 through April 2009, which was the 50th live jazz event. Accompanying the audio tracks were informational slides that highlight certain presentations and special events held by the Brookfield Jazz Society over the same time period. Added to the mix were some Fun Facts about the BJS that impressed audience members.

Read more...


Today's Date:


The Jazz Room

Click the image to read the article from Sawa's Old Warsaw website (opens in new browser)

BJS Login

This section is reserved
for BJS Members only


Please Click Here to learn about BJS Membership. Thanks for your support.